2005 SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING CAREER EXECUTIVE OFFICERS PROGRAM AWARD RECIPIENTS

x-----x

RESOLUTION NO. 597

WHEREAS, Presidential Decree No. 1, created the Career Executive Service Board (CESB) "to serve as the governing body of the Career Executive Service" and mandated it to promulgate rules, standards and procedures on the selection, classification and career development of members of the Career Executive Service";

WHEREAS, under CESB Board Resolution No. 566, dated July 9, 2004, the Board resolved to adopt the Search for Outstanding Career Executive Officers Program as an annual program of the CESB to serve as an avenue in giving recognition to career executive officers for their outstanding performance and significant contributions;

WHEREAS, the said resolution directed the creation of a Committee on Awards to formulate the evaluation process for the Search, whilst it authorized the Board Secretariat to establish the detailed activities involved in the program and be responsible for its implementation;

WHEREAS, the Board Secretariat launched the 2005 Search for Outstanding Career Executive Officers Program and upon approval of the Board, identified the members of the Committee on Awards;

WHEREAS, only thirteen (13) out of the fourteen (14) nominees who were initially considered for final screening were included in the final selection, excluding former BIR Commissioner Guillermo L. Parayno, Jr. who were no longer in the government service at the time of deliberation;

WHEREAS, after rigid evaluation and screening of thirteen (13) nominations, the Committee has chosen the five (5) nominees listed below to be the 2005 Search awardees;

WHEREAS, the Committee recommends to consider granting Mr. Parayno a special commendation in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments and exemplary leadership and managerial attributes

NOW THEREFORE, it is **RESOLVED**, as it is hereby **RESOLVED** by this Board to confer the Search for Outstanding Career Executive Officers Award to the five (5) nominees as decided by the Committee. It is further **RESOLVED** that the Board to give special commendation to former BIR Commissioner Guillermo L. Parayno. Jr.

SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING CARRER EXECUTIVE SERVICE OFFICER PROGRAM AWARD RECIPIENTS

1. ROBERTO C. ABEJERO

Regional Director

Department of the Interior and Local Government - Region 7

2. FORTUNATO T. DELA PEÑA

Undersecretary

Department of Science and Technology

3. FILOMENA G. DELOS SANTOS

Chief Medical Officer

Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center (VSMMC)

4. SANI D. MACABALANG

Regional Director

Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources - Region 12

5. LEONARDO N. QUITOS, JR.

Regional Director

National Economic and Development Authority - Region 1

APPROVED this 13th day of September 2005 in Quezon City, Philippines.

signed

KARINA CONSTANTINO-DAVID

Chairperson

signed
RAMON F. NIEVA
Vice Chairperson

absent MA. CONCEPCION P. ALFILER Member

signed
FERDINAND B. CUI JR.
Member

signed
GODOFREDO C. DE GUZMAN
Member

signed
EDUARDO T. GONZALEZ
Member

signed
GERARDO A. PLANA
Member

signed
CARINA S. VALERA
Member

Attested by:

signed **BETTINA MARGARITA S. LAYUGAN**Acting Board Secretary